Random Acts of Experimental Intentional Camera Movement Abstracts

Hey – When’s the last time you just experimented to see what happens?

Looking for those fun “Happy Accidents”

Well, how long’s it been?

Have you ever actually shot images just for the fun of “What If?”

Well, that’s something I just did (again) the other day. I was out walking with my camera and just my 50mm lens, doing some normal shooting of a beach front marina area, when I came across all their flower boxes and decided to have a little fun – Experimenting.

Experimenting with Random Intentional Camera Movement Abstracts

Just point the camera in random directions, random focus points chosen by the camera, random motion while shooting, random everything! I even put my shutter drive on ‘rapid fire’ to let my camera just rip off a handful of shots while still holding the shutter button and walking. Don’t even look at your screen after the shots, force yourself to wait. It’s all so random, you may not even get anything – But you’ll have fun in the meantime and the anticipation will drive you nuts.

Then, it’s time to go to the darkroom to discover what you’ll find. Sure, I had a lot of Rejects right off the bat (186 actually) – But, upon digging thru some of them, rotating, cropping, and tweaking a few sliders in Lightroom, till I came up with a couple of nice images.

And here they are:

About masterofmadness

Semi-pro photographer & musician. Co-own a photo gallery with a digital photo-lab in a small tourist town, on an island in the Pacific NW of USA. I also teach and ongoing series of workshops in photography, Photoshop and Apple computers. I shoot mostly landscapes, in the mountains - Giving me a great excuse to go climb them. I also do a lot of fine art, macros and abstracts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

